Archive for the ‘Awards’ Category


The star-studded 2012 NHL Awards were handed out on June 20 and offered a few surprises compared to previous years. Perennial winners such as Pavel Datsyuk and Nicklas Lidstrom went home empty-handed while Boston Bruin Patrice Bergeron won the Selke Award for best defensive forward, and first-time nominee Ottawa Senator Erik Karlsson won the Norris Trophy for the best defenseman.

Another first-time winner was New York Ranger Henrik Lundqvist who took home the Vezina Trophy for Goalie of the Year, upsetting LA Kings fans who felt Jonathan Quick was a shoe-in for the prize. Kings fans were also disappointed when Kings coach Darryl Sutter lost the Jack Adams Award for Coach of the Year to first-time winner St. Louis Blues coach Ken Hitchcock.

The ceremony was held at the Las Vegas Wynn Hotel and Casino. For a list of all the winners, check here.



Now that the NHL playoffs are in the second round, the nominations for the 2011 NHL Awards are almost complete. While some of the winners of individual awards have already been named, others have yet to be determined.

The awards will be presented on June 22 at The Palms Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas and aired on Versus. See the list below for the nominees.

Art Ross Trophy

(Most Points)

Daniel Sedin (VAN), 104 points (Winner)

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

(Perseverance and Dedication to Hockey)

Ray Emery (ANA)

Daymond Langkow (CGY)

Ian Laperriere (PHI)

Calder Memorial Trophy

(Rookie of the Year)

Michael Grabner (NYI)

Logan Couture (SJS)

Jeff Skinner (CAR)

Frank J. Selke Trophy

(Best Defensive Forward)

Pavel Datsyuk (DET)

Ryan Kesler (VAN)

Jonathan Toews (CHI)

Hart Memorial Trophy

(Most Valuable to His Team)

Corey Perry (ANA)

Daniel Sedin (VAN)

Martin St. Louis (TBL)

Jack Adams Award

(Coach of the Year)

Alain Vigneault (VAN)

Barry Trotz (NSH)

Dan Bylsma (PIT)

James Norris Memorial Trophy

(Best Defender)

Nicklas Lidstrom (DET)

Zdeno Chara (BOS)

Shea Weber (NSH)

King Clancy Memorial Trophy

(Best Leadership Qualities)


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

(Best Sportsmanship and Gentlemanly Conduct)

Martin St. Louis (TBL)

Nicklas Lidstrom (DET)

Loui Eriksson (DAL)

Mark Messier Leadership Award


Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy

(Most Goals)

Corey Perry (ANA), 50 goals (Winner)

NHL Foundation Player Award

(Community Service)

Dustin Brown (LAK)

Mike Green (WSH)

Daniel and Henrik Sedin (VAN)

Williams M. Jennings Trophy

(Goaltending Tandem with Fewest Goals Scored Against)

Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider (VAN) (Winners)

NHL Lifetime Achievement Award


Ted Lindsay Award

(Most Outstanding Player in the Regular Season)

Corey Perry (ANA)

Daniel Sedin (VAN)

Steven Stamkos (TBL)

Vezina Trophy

(Best Goaltender)

Roberto Luongo (VAN)

Pekke Rinne (NSH)

Tim Thomas (BOS)

GM of the Year

Mike Gillis (VAN)

Steve Yzerman (TBL)

David Poile (NSH)



The 2011 nominees for the NHL’s Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy have each overcome seemingly insurmountable odds, which makes each a remarkable story of facing adversity. This season, Anaheim Ducks goalie Ray Emery, Calgary Flames forward Daymond Langkow, and Philadelphia Flyers forward Ian Laperriere were each nominated for the award for “the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.”

Goaltender Ray Emery’s 2009-2010 season with the Philadelphia Flyers started off well, but he was sidelined by a torn abdominal muscle and was then diagnosed with avascular necrosis, a condition wherein the ball joint of the hip is deprived of blood flow and the bone dies. He had successful surgery last April to graft bone to the area, went through extensive rehab, and was signed late this season by the Anaheim Ducks who were in dire need of a veteran netminder after No. 1 goalie Jonas Hiller was hit with a bout of vertigo. Emery not only shined in the net but got the Ducks into the Stanley Cup Playoffs. If he wins, Emery would be the second Anaheim Ducks player to win the Masterton Trophy. The only other Duck to win the trophy is Teemu Selanne. Although Ducks forwards Saku Koivu and Jason Blake have also won the Masterton, they did so with the Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs, respectively.

Last March, Flames forward Daymond Langkow suffered a fractured vertebra when he was hit by a slap shot from a teammate. He was cleared to return to the lineup just over a year after his injury and played in the Flames’ last four games of the season scoring 1 assist.

Equally as compelling is the story of Philadelphia Flyers forward Ian Laperriere who suffered a brain contusion and several facial injuries when blocking a shot during a first-round playoff game last April. ¬†Laperriere hasn’t played this season but remains involved with the Flyers franchise by running drills with injured and extra players at the team’s training facility.

Although it’s always an honor to receive an award, the Masterton isn’t one to which most players aspire. The trophy is awarded to players who overcome great adversity and beat the odds with courage and dedication to the sport of hockey. On June 22, the Masterton Memorial Trophy will be awarded and regardless of which of the three players wins, it will go to a truly deserving and admirable athlete.

, , , , , , , , , , ,